Energizing Rural Communities Prize

In July of 2023, DOE announced 67 winners of Phase One of the Energizing Rural Communities Prize. Each winning organization receives a cash award of $100,000 and is eligible to participate in Phase Two of the prize.

For more information about each winning team, visit herox.com/rural-energy/

Finance Track Winners

Team (sorted alphabetically)Location
CDC-PHP Empowerment CoalitionPembroke, IL
Collective Energy, Community Health Center Capital Fund, and Chiricahua Community Health Center Microgrid Lending and Development ProjectWillcox, AZ
FaheWhitesburg, KY
Funding Sicangu EnergyRosebud, SD
Garfield Clean Energy CollaborativeParachute, CO
GRID Alternatives, Energy Resilience FundWellpinit, WA
Making Mr. CEF'S (Minnesota Rural Clean Energy Finance) Capital Stack BurgerMotley, MN
Native CDFI NetworkWhite Cloud, KS
Nevada Clean Energy FundTown of Battle Mountain, NV
Project GreenlightLakeview, OR
SolarShare WI CooperativeTown of Lemonweir, WI
Triple Bottom Line Foundation (TBL Fund)Acoma, NM

Partner Track Winners

Team (sorted alphabetically)Location
Advancing Tribal Energy Sovereignty - Spark NorthwestKingston, WA
AgWind QualifiersSinton, TX
Alaska Municipal LeagueToksook Bay, AK
Beaver Island Smart Energy TeamBeaver Island, MI
Big Bend Community Development TeamQuincy, FL
CEBE Cooperative SolarNorway, ME
CERTs & WETCCMahnomen, MN
Clean Energy Bounty SeekersOwyhee, NV
Clean Energy NHWhitefield, NH
Clean Energy Solutions GroupMonticello, FL
Coal to Solar in Carrier MillsVillage of Carrier Mills, IL
Cuyama Energy TeamNew Cuyama, CA
E.A.R.T.H.Oldenburg, IN
Energizing DinétahPinon, AZ
Energy Conservation WorksAfton, WY
Farmers Conservation Energy and Resiliency TeamTowaoc, CO
Georgette Jean Enterprises, LLCIdlewild, MI
Illu Global Inc and Waldron Power & LightWaldron Island, WA
Intertribal Community-Owned Solar Program TeamPleasant Point, ME
Island InstituteEastport, ME
Islesboro Energy CommitteeIslesboro, ME
Kitchi-Gami SisuAlger County, MI
Lafayette County Arkansas Rural Energy ProjectBradley City, AR
Little Bob TechnologiesLowndesboro, AL
Midi Enterprises-Bloom Energy Corp PartnershipNew Town, ND
Navajo Nation Solar Initiative TeamShonto, AZ
NRECA's Partnerships Delivering Defined Mutual Goals (PADEDMUG)Sumterville, FL
PowerUP Philadelphia, MS Clean Energy Solar Project & WorkshopsCity of Philadelphia, MS
Pueblo of San Ildefonso Solar Energy TeamSan Ildefonso Pueblo, NM
RED HOTChina Spring, TX
Region Nine Development CommissionSt. James, MN
Regional Climate Solutions TeamBasalt, CO
RISE Project: Rural Innovation through Solar EmpowermentAliquippa, PA
Rural ActionGlouster, OH
SAGE Development AuthorityFort Yates, ND
Shake Energy CollaborativeHoʻolehua, HI
Silverton GOLD TeamTown of Silverton, CO
Smart GridMagnolia, MN
Solar Workgroup of Southwest VirginiaNorton, VA
Solar4Us @ Mountain MarylandAllegany County, MD
Son Solar MississippiMendenhall, MS
Steering South Texas Toward Solar SuccessLos Fresnos, TX
Strong, Arkansas TeamStrong, AR
SUN Rural Solar Projects & Workforce DevelopmentGeorgetown, SC
Sustainable Grand CountyGranby, CO
Team Climate-Resilient GerlachGerlach, NV
Team SEGAGalena, AK
Team SPUR:  Sustaining Productive Utilization of ResourcesKemmerer, WY
The Morris Model Partnership (morrismodel.org)Morris, MN
The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO)Blue Mountain, MS
Turtle Mountain Community Renewable Energy PartnersBelcourt, ND
Vieques Energy PartnershipVieques, PR
Village of Dowell & City of Carbondale, IL CollaborationVillage of Dowell, IL
Wallowa ResourcesWallowa County, OR
Yellow Springs Development CorporationYellow Springs, OH